banner Giving to the Institute

The John Scott Dailey Florida Institute of Government (FIOG) was created by the Florida Legislature in 1980 and subsequently designated as a Type I Institute by the Florida Board of Regents. The institute fulfills its statewide mission through a consortium of six (6) affiliate program offices located at the Florida State University, the University of Florida, the University of South Florida, the University of Central Florida, Florida Atlantic University, and Florida Gulf Coast University. The Executive Office of the institute serves as the administrative unit of the program and is located at the Florida State University.

Since 1995, the institute has conducted approximately 24,793 workshops and conferences statewide in Florida—an average of 2,749 per year. Also, during this same time, approximately 580,685 participants, the large majority of whom represent officials and employees from local government in Florida, have attended programs resulting in over 2.6 million professional contact hours. The institute has also conducted an estimated 1,190 technical assistance and applied research projects, an average of 119 annually. Recently the institute was renamed in honor of John Scott Dailey, its founding executive director.

FIOG Brochure